Skip navigation

have you ever tried to list your all-time favorite songs?  what if you had to list your top 5?  yes, just 5.  i’ve been trying to do this for days.  music has been such an important element in my life. 

i have so many great memories of music/songs, and bands included. songs are like smells.  they have the ability to take me back in time, energize me, chill me out, put me to sleep, make me grouchy (country), laugh, dance.  depending on the song, it can make me melancholy when remembering passed loved ones – or happy!   i love it when i wake up singing (usually praise) – starts my day off better (because mornings are cruel).

remember when…mom snagged my motley crew tape (yes, i said tape) -she never gave it back.  she was mad dad bought it , after she said no. (divorced parents).

remember when…the first time i heard “white wedding” (and fell in love with) billy idol – on my way to a dentist appointment?

remember when…the first time i heard “i can only imagine”. how i felt while listening to the words.  who introduced me to the song and how that person is still a catalyst in my spiritual growth.

at my ripe old age of 30-ish, i sometimes wonder what songs i want played at my funeral.  yes, i have a list, back of my Bible.  no, shout at the devil is not on the list, but the red hot chili peppers are…wouldn’t that be fun?  you guys would have to listen to my favorites. and no you can’t turn it off!  or change it.  or turn it down. 

can you list your top 5?  let me know.

why?…because it’s my favorite number.

2 Comments

  1. How am I ever going to be able to reduce the number to 5?

    Let me see …

    Anything by the Beach Boys.
    Anything by Elton John.

    Watching You by Rodney Atkins

    Take Me There by Rascal Flatts

    A Living Prayer by Alison Krauss (actually Alison could sing the Alamanac and I’d cry)

    Oh … I could be here all day!

  2. I’ll have to get back to you on the top five. Let me ponder that a while more. Five is also my favorite number, I think because my birthday is on a five.


Leave a Reply

