Skip navigation

there is more to this minimalist thing than i realized.  it’s forcing me to be organized, especially in my office. i have a thing for notebooks and notepads.  as i am in the process of unpacking my office, i can easily get rid of “things”  that serve no purpose other than decor.  but my notes with information…well, i have to decide if they are worth keeping.  really, some of the information is challenging me to let go – as if i couldn’t find it on google.  minimalism is not just about stuff, it’s a mental process of letting go, as well.  for me, it’s mostly about contentment.

3 Comments

  1. Great to see you blogging and good thoughts on contentment and our stuff. Just as Paul wrote in 1 Timothy 6:6-8

    “Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content.”
    Julie has some great stories about all the stupid stuff I keep (ask her about the MRE’s) and how she is always “encouraging” me to minimize and simplify.

  2. I found your blog via Mark’s.

    Art and I were challenged during our last move, about a year and a half ago, to get rid of a lot of “stuff”. We did and yet, I’m amazed at how much “stuff” we still have! Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom and reflections about such ideas as materialism. Thought provoking for sure!

    Now that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting you (finally), I’ll be checking your blog frequently!

    Blessings!

  3. So glad you’re staying with this! You will find, no doubt, the less you have to polish, pack, shove, vacuum, dust, store, save, box up, etc., the more time you’ll have for other things – – including blogging.

    Good job!
    Kathleen


Leave a Reply

